Logo

 

Faculty

The faculty at the HFEE are professors who teach classes, mentor graduate students, run the laboratories. Faculty support laboratory research by conducting their own projects and assisting others.

     

Dr. John G. Casali John G. Casali
John Grado Professor
519G Whittemore Hall
Tel : (540) 231-5073
Fax: (540) 231-3322
Email : jcasali@vt.edu
Research interests:
  • Human Factors Engineering and Ergonomics
  • Psychoacoustics
  • Hearing Conservation and Hearing Protection Technology
  • Auditory Displays
  • Signal Detection
  • Speech Communications in Noise
  • Vehicle Simulation

  • Dr. Gabbard Joseph L. Gabbard Jr.
    Associate Professor
    557 Whittemore Hall
    Tel : (540) 231-3559
    Fax : (540) 231-3322
    Email : jgabbard@vt.edu
    Research interests:
  • Human-computer Interaction
  • Usability Engineering

  • Dr. Brian M. Kleiner Brian M. Kleiner
    Professor
    519-E Whittemore Hall
    Tel : (540) 231-4926
    Fax : (540) 231-3322
    Email : bkleiner@vt.edu
    Research interests:
  • Macroergonomics/Systems Ergonomics/Work System Design
  • Computer-Supported Cooperative Work (CSCW)
  • Function Allocation
  • Construction Safety and Health
  • Health Systems Performance

  • Dr. Nathan Lau Nathan Lau
    Assistant Professor
    546 Whittemore Hall
    Tel : (540) 231-5936
    Email : nathan.lau@vt.edu
    Research interests:
  • Cognitive Engineering
  • Cognitive Work Analysis
  • Interface Design
  • Human Performance
  • Situation Awareness

  • Dr. Maury A. Nussbaum Maury A. Nussbaum
    H.G. Prillaman Professor and Assistant Department Head
    521 Whittemore Hall
    Tel : (540) 231-6053
    Fax : (540) 231-3322
    Email : nussbaum@vt.edu
    Research interests:
  • Industrial Ergonomics
  • Occupational Biomechanics
  • Localized Muscle Fatigue
  • Balance and Postural Control
  • Occupational Safety and Health
  • Consumer Product Design and Evaluation

  •      
    Dr. Divya Srinivasan Divya Srinivasan
    Assistant Professor
    549 Whittemore Hall
    Tel : (540) 231-0083
    Email : sdivya1@vt.edu
    Research interests:
  • Occupational Ergonomics & Human Performance
  • Biomechanics of the Upper Body
  • Human Movements, Motor Control and Coordination
  • Work Physiology and Fatigue
  • Work-related Musculoskeletal Disorders
  • Physical Activity